Cigar Review EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009

Published on July 22nd, 2014 | by Siz

0

EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009

8 / 10

Quick Review

I have been slacking lately. I blame it all on buying a new house! So I am getting back in the swing of things with a limited edition cigar from 5 years ago, the EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009. While it is a little lighter than I normally prefer, it is a tasty cigar that offers a nice balance of white pepper, nuts, graham cracker, and wood. If you are looking for a higher end mild-medium cigar (and can still find them), this might be a good choice for you.

Stogie Specs

  • Made By:E.P. Carrillo
  • Wrapper:Wrapper- Ecuadorian Habano (experimental)
  • Binder:Nicaragua, Dom. Rep.
  • Filler:Nicaragua, Dom. Rep.
  • Average Price:$13
  • Ring Gauge:52
  • Length:5 3/8"

Flavor Wheel

Your Browser Does Not Support Our Flavor Wheel.


review:
Jeremy Yow
Price:
$13

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4
On July 22, 2014
Last modified:February 18, 2017

Summary:

I have been slacking lately. I blame it all on buying a new house! So I am getting back in the swing of things with a limited edition cigar from 5 years ago, the EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009. While it is a little lighter than I normally prefer, it is a tasty cigar that offers a nice balance of white pepper, nuts, graham cracker, and wood. If you are looking for a higher end mild-medium cigar (and can still find them), this might be a good choice for you.

Initial Thoughts

EP Carrillo is the creation of Ernesto Perez-Carrillo Jr. Ernesto is the man behind the Gloria Cubana line that became part of General Cigar in 2000. He stayed on with them until 2009, when he created his own brand with his son and daughter. The Edicion Inaugural 2009 was the very first cigar they produced. Considering this, I think the name is quite appropriate.

The Edicion Inaugural was a limited edition cigar that came in a box of ten. About 150,000 cigars were produced. It features an experimental Ecuadorian Habano wrapper (not sure what that means exactly) and a double binder. The wrapper is supposedly rare, thus causing it to be a limited release. It was only made in one vitola, a slightly large robusto.

EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009 - Foot

This particular cigar was given to me by good ol Siz. He purchased it from Uptown’s in Nashville. Since I have only had one of these before, I was glad to see that they still had some and that Siz picked up the tab!

Looks:

The Edicion Inaugural 2009 has a natural, almost Connecticut shade wrapper with some veins and slightly raised seams. It is not the usual brown I associate with an Ecuadorian wrapper, but hey, it is “experimental”. It does appear a bit bumpy near the cap. Despite some minor imperfections, it looks like a solid cigar.

EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009

There are two bands on this cigar. The first is the usual EP Carrillo band; black and yellow with a red square that has the “EP” initials on it. There are also gold and yellow leaves and gold and white print. The second band under it is thinner and red with gold print. It has “Edicion Inaugural 2009” on it. Both bands are glued on and require peeling to remove them. Neither tears the wrapper.

Function:

The Edicion Inaugural 2009 felt like it looked: solid! There was just the slightest give to it. It felt really smooth too, almost powdery.

The foot has a nice maple syrup/molasses aroma to it. The barrel is also appetizing, giving off a graham cracker aroma. I have a feeling this will be a sweet stick!

EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009 - 1st Third

I use my CRA cutter to clip the cap. There is a faint note of molasses, but not as strong as when I smelled the other sections. There is also a bit of hay. The airflow is decent, but a little tight.

Smoking:

It is now time to light this bad boy up. I must say, it was a little tough to get lit. Once I do, it never gets quite even. In the beginning, I get a little run on one side that requires a touch up. In fact, each third requires a minor touch up.

EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009 - 2nd Third

The draw is better than it was pre-light, but it is a bit tight. I am still able to get enough smoke to satisfy my palate.

The ash is very solid and white. It lasts for 1” at a time. It is definitely the standout category in the “smoking” section of the review.

Flavor:

The EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009 has been pretty solid in most categories. The pre-light aromas definitely have me eager to see how this cigar tastes. Hopefully, it will deliver on those sweet notes and have held up over the years.

The first third begins with a light white pepper that quickly adds some graham cracker notes. There is also a dry wood (cedar?). Soon after, some grass and nut flavors develop. It is definitely getting sweeter as it goes.

EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009 - Nub

The second third features nuts, wood, graham cracker, and light white pepper. However, the sweet graham cracker note is the most dominant. Near the end of this section, a touch of salt appears.

The final third continues with the same line up, but the light white pepper becomes very faint. As it continues, the cigar becomes woodier, even adding a hint of clove at the end. It does get a bit warm at the end, but not bitter.

The EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009 is mild-medium in strength and medium in flavor. It is definitely a sweeter cigar than most, but not a powerhouse by any means. Smoke time was 1 hour 15 minutes.

Would I Buy It Again?

Probably not.

Is It An Everyday Smoke?

Not for me, but maybe for fans of milder cigars (and those with deep pockets!)

Would I Buy a Box?

No.

Conclusion

EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009

The EP Carrillo Edicion Inaugural 2009 is certainly a unique cigar that offers a good deal of sweetness with mild spice that’s easy on the taste buds. I will say that the longer this one sits, the lighter it gets, which, to me is not a good thing. I had one about 2 years ago and definitely enjoyed it more than this one. I can handle a cigar not being strong but lose interest when the flavor starts to go. Though this one still had some left and was rather enjoyable, it paled in comparison to it’s younger self. For that kind of money, I want more. But if this sounds like you’re type of cigar, I say give it a shot!


About the Author

Siz





Back to Top ↑